Ang Blog ni Paurong!

Dahil hindi plantsado ang buhay ng tao.

7:45 pm | fourth periodical test (day 1)

Posted by Paurong sa Biyernes, Marso 24, 2006

I did not know what to answer in the Social Studies test. That was the first. I really did not know any single thing.

Then the second test was English. I was startled to see an item which pertained to me. The sentence was “Jonnel loves reading Shakespeare”. I was about to be glad about having that item kaso mali yung spelling ng name ko. Why was I there? I mean, the only one who could be the culprit of the premise is my English teacher. It’s me, eh. Who could it possibly be? There’s no one else, I swear! Of all the Juniors, I am the only student (whose name is Jonell) who loves reading Shakespeare. But do I really love reading Shakespeare?

It all started with the book presentation for our English class. William Shakespeare’s Hamlet was given to us by our English teacher, and because I was the leader, it’s mandatory for me to read the book. And so I read it. At first, I was totally confused by the words and the grammar used by Shakespeare. I played the role of Hamlet–and so I had memorized the famous soliloquy “To Be or Not To Be” which, I think, is still lucid in my mind.

To be or not to be? That is the question
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune
Or to take arms against the sea of trouble
And by opposing, end them. To die, to sleep,
To sleep, perchance to dream. Ay, there’s the rub
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil must give us pause
There’s the respect that makes calamity of so long life
For who would bear the whips and scorns of time
Th’ opressors wrong, the proud man’s contumely
The pangs of disprized love, the laws delay
The insolent of office and the spurns
That patient merit of th’ unworthy takes
When he himself might his quietus make
With a bare bodkin? Who would this fardel bear
To grunt and sweat under a weary life
But that the dread of something after death
The undiscovered country from whose born
No travellers return, puzzles the will
And makes us rather bear those ills we have
Than fly to others that we know not of
And thus conscience make coward of us all
Thus the native hue of resolution
Is sickled o’er with a pale cast of thought
And enterprises of great pitch and moment
With this regard their currents turn awry
And lose the name of action.–

Wow! I still have it in my mind. It was ages since I delivered it. But now it’s still in my mind. And so, as I have said, I read Shakespeare. I was motivated with the success of the Hamlet play.

The next play I read was Romeo and Juliet. I asked my English teacher if I could present it to her. She agreed yet she did not know how would she tell it to the class without them thinking anything beyond favoritism. We cast lots to decide which book would be for each group (Romeo and Juliet, which I suggested, or The Count of Monte Cristo). I picked up the latter and so I protested. On and on, I won. After insisting what i REALLY WANT, I got Romeo and Juliet. I wanted it because I love it. And when I was directing it my groupmates, my fervidness about it ruptured. I started to appreciate Shakespeare’s way of writing even though he used archaic words. The figure of speech he used in his play, the metaphors especially, is really adorable. Generally, Shakespeare’s works are marvelous, fantastic, excellent, terrific, superb, great, fabulous, wonderful, brilliant, tremendous, remarkable, awesome, sensational, stunning, outstanding, spectacular, awe-inspiring, splendid, fine, glorious, impressive, superlative, unmatched, unbeatable, the best, matchless, beyond compare, unique, peerless… and all the worlds which may describe Shakespeareana. Wow! Enough for that.

The next test was my favorite, ironically, Math — Advanced Algebra with Trigonometry. Of course, I did not know what to answer not because I did not review my lessons but it is really my nature not understanding and not compiling with the matter.

Then, Madeleine and I was summoned by our Math teacher to take up the Unit Test. Blimey! It was very hard. That’s the best to describe Math–it’s not difficult, it’s HARD. What a cliché!

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

 
